GRUB & GARB dossier / Julie

October 21, 2014 § Leave a comment

Julie has a magical, raspy sound that comes out when she talks and sings. I heard about her before I knew her. I saw her on low fidelity internet videos before I saw her in the flesh. When I finally did get the introduction, I thought she was even better than I had hoped.

My mind’s best memory of her is when she is sporting giant, gold-hooped earrings and her perfectly shredded tee. Wonderfully delightful, she has got a magnificent laugh.

So learn about this guitar-playing, swell-singing, weeknight deejaying, weekend bar-tending, higher education-seeking lady.

NAME – Julie  AGE – 32 OCCUPATION – Grad student

GRUB

IMG_0129

From start to finish, what would be your ideal food day? An everything bagel with olive tofu cream cheese, big salad with lots of fruit, watermelon chunks, some kind of non-dairy ice cream and lots of iced coffee.

Favorite cities for food? Washington DC for limitless vegan options and Ethiopian food.
New York City for the bagels. 
IMG_0145

Favorite splurge? If, in regards to food, I splurge on vegan baked goods. The carrot cookie creme sandwich thing from Karma Cream is ridiculously good. If we aren’t talking food, and just talking life, I like to splurge on trips out of town.

What catches your eye on a menu?  Savory tofu and/or cashew dishes.

What’s always in your fridge? A block of tofu and Sweet Baby Ray’s Barbecue Sauce.

GARB

Describe your personal style. A hot mess.

Are there any key pieces you find yourself wearing constantly? Big earrings and a pair of Hush Puppies I bought for $3, that are rapidly disintegrating.

What is your most recent purchase? A couple silk blouses from a thrift store in Richmond, Va. that I will probably never wear.

Style icon(s)? It is my goal to dress something like 1990s Lauryn Hill and Kim Gordon, with a little Souixie Souix. However, I’m pretty sure I usually looking like Kurt Cobain in his frumpy grandpa phase

5 things you can’t live without

  • The aforementioned big earrings.
  • Hush Puppy booties.
  • My disgusting gray t shirt that is also rapidly falling apart.
  • Black jeans.
  • Silkie blousies.

image

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GRUB & GARB dossier / Julie at wild sesame.

meta

